skip to primary navigationskip to content


Group Leader

Dr. Sam Stranks


Sam Stranks (@samstranks) is a Royal Society University Research Fellow, TED Fellow, Group Leader at the University of Cambridge, and Fellow of Clare College, Cambridge. He graduated from the University of Adelaide in 2007 with a BA (German and Applied Mathematics), BSc (Physics and Physical Chemistry), BSc (First Class Honours in Physics) and a University Medal. He completed his PhD as a Rhodes Scholar at Oxford University with Robin Nicholas, receiving the 2012 Institute of Physics Roy Thesis Prize for his work on carbon nanotube/polymer blends for organic solar cell applications. From 2012-2014, he worked as a post-doctoral researcher in Henry Snaith’s group at Oxford University where he was also a Junior Research Fellow at Worcester College and Lecturer in Physics at Corpus Christi College. From 2014-2016, he was a Marie Curie Fellow at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology working jointly with Vladimir Bulovic and Richard Friend (Cambridge). Sam received the 2016 IUPAP Young Scientist in Semiconductor Physics Prize, the 2017 Early Career Prize from the European Physical Society, and the 2018 Henry Moseley Award and Medal from the Institute of Physics. In 2017 he was named by the MIT Technology Review as one of the 35 under 35 innovators in Europe and was recently listed by Clarivate Analytics as one of the top 10 most influential researchers in the world by citations of hot papers.

Full publications list on Google Scholar here.


Postdoctoral Researchers

Miguel Anaya

Geraud Delport

Miguel            Geraud       
           Started April 2018.               Started February 2018.


Krzysztof Galkowski

Javad Shamsi

  Started January 2018.

    Javad received his Ph.D. in NanoChemistry from Italian Institute of Technology in 2018, where he worked on colloidal synthesis of lead halide perovskite nanocrystals for optoelectronic applications under the advisement of Prof. Liberato Manna. He is now continuing as a postdoc to pursue his passion for the fundamental research in quantum confined perovskite nanocrystals at the University of Cambridge. Started June 2018.


Beth Tennyson



  Started August 2018.


PhD Students

Zahra Andaji-Garmaroudi

Alan Bowman

Zahra's research and work experience have been on nanotechnology innovations that could help to boost solar power, which is a technology that can be a key component of our future, green energy supply system due to its easy availability, cleanness and cheap energy resources. Started October 2016 (co-supervised by Richard Friend).  Alan's PhD focuses on trying to combine low band-gap perovskites with singlet fission materials. A realisation of this new class of solar cells would have the potential to overcome the Shockley-Queisser limit in a simple and cheap fashion, with the potential to revolutionise wider solar panel technologies. Started April 2017.





Tiarnan Doherty

Stuart MacPherson

tiarnan            stuart
Started October 2017

Started October 2017






Edoardo Ruggeri

Camille Stavrakas


Started October 2017.

Camille is a NanoDTC PhD student focusing on novel microscale luminescence approaches and determining connections between local luminescence and local chemical and structural properties in perovskites. Started May 2017.



MPhil/MRes Students

Kangyu Ji


Kangyu is focusing on film composition and architecture of perovskite solar cells. Beyond that he does some music composing and production including jazz, pop song and film scoring. He also loves anime and strategy games.


Ruyi Huang (MPhil in Micro- and Nanotechnology Enterprise)

Alexander Vladimirov (Graphene DTC Short Project)


Visiting Researchers

Kyle Frohna (Trinity College Dublin)

Interested in the unique recombination processes that occur in perovskites in order to improve the efficiency of perovskite solar cells. 


Tingjun Zhang (Clare College, Undergraduate Summer Student)

Alumni/Past Visitors

Harry Jones (Part III Master's Project, 2017/2018)

Bluebell Drummond (NanoDTC Mini project with Dr Laura Torrente and Dr Robert Hoye, 2017/2018)

Daniel Ramirez (University of Antioquia, 2017/2018)

Kilian Lohmann (Part III Master's Student, 2016/2017)

Joshua Tuffnell (Nano DTC Mini Project with Dr Rachel Oliver, 2018)

Taylor Uekert (Nano DTC Mini Project with Dr Hannah Joyce, 2017)

Zhuo (Joe) Yang (Visitor from CNRS-Toulouse, February 2017)

There are currently no items in this folder.